Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Maryland Health Care System

 

Hospitalist Section

 What is a Hospitalist?
Hospitalists are physicians whose primary professional focus is the general medical care of hospitalized patients. Their activities include patient care, teaching, research, and leadership related to Hospital Medicine.  The Hospitalist assumes responsibility for the observation and treatment of hospitalized patients, and returns them to the care of their primary care providers or private physicians when they are discharged from the hospital.

What benefits can a Hospitalist offer patients?
By focusing on the care of hospitalized patients, a Hospitalist can gain a great deal of experience in the unique aspects of a patient's needs during their hospital stay.  Hospitalists typically spend most or all of their work day in the hospital, and thus can be more readily available to a patient than a doctor who spends much of their day outside the hospital in an office or clinic setting.

What else do Hospitalists do?

  • Provide compassionate and cutting-edge care focused on putting the Veteran first.
  • Train and mentor medical residents and students
  • Lead VA committees that focus on improving or eliminating processes that impede good customer service
  • Practice by the “I CARE” principles - Integrity Commitment Advocacy Respect and Excellence.

Meet our Hospitalists:

Photo of Christine D’Arbela, MD, FACP
Christine D’Arbela, MD, FACP
Chief, Hospitalist Section; Medical Director, VA Maryland Health Care System Flow; and Academic Hospitalist Physician
christine.d'arbela@va.gov

Photo of Vishal Vaghela, MD
Vishal Vaghela, MD
Assistant Chief, Hospitalist Section: Deputy Director, VA Maryland Health Care System Flow; and Academic Hospitalist Physician
vishal.vaghela2@va.gov

Photo of Meng Wang, MD
Meng Wang, MD
Director of Research, Hospitalist Section and Academic Hospitalist Physician
meng.wang2@va.gov

Photo of Ryan Scilla, MD, FACP
Ryan Scilla, MD, FACP
Director, Medical Consult Service and Academic Hospitalist Physician
ryan.scilla@va.gov

Photo of Stephen Musisi, MB, ChB
Stephen Musisi, MB, ChB
Director, Short-Stay Team and Academic Hospitalist Physician
stephen.musisi@va.gov

Photo of Muhammad Huq, MD
Muhammad Huq, MD
Academic Hospitalist Physician
muhammad.huq@va.gov


Photo of Emily Rushing, MD, RD
Emily Rushing, MD, RD
Academic Hospitalist Physician
emily.rushing@va.gov

Physician Assistants


Photo of Jaquetta Charles-Morris, PA-C
Jaquetta Charles-Morris, PA-C
Lead Physician Assistant, Hospitalist section
jaquetta.charles-morris@va.gov

Contact Info

Location

  • Baltimore VA Medical Center

Contact Number(s)

  • 410-605-7000

Hours of Operation

  • 24 hours a day, 7 days a week