Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Maryland Health Care System


Nursing Excellence for Maryland’s Veterans

Lois Freeman receiving the VA Secretary’s Award for Nursing Excellence.

Lois Freeman, CRNP, Care Coordination Home Telehealth, was one of four VA Maryland Health Care System nurses recognized with the VA Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Nursing.

Monday, July 21, 2014

During its annual observance of National Nurses Week, the Veterans Affairs (VA) Maryland Health Care System awarded four nurses with local VA Secretary Awards for Excellence in Nursing. Also, 25 nurses were selected for the local Nightingale Awards.

The four nurses honored with local level VA Secretary’s Award for Nursing Excellence include three nurses at the Baltimore VA Medical Center: Lois Freeman, CRNP, Care Coordination Home Telehealth; Sara Toscano, RN, Clinical Informatics, and Cheryl Beasley, LPN, Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center; and one nurse from the Perry Point VA Medical Center Christine Hoderfield, CNA, Community Living Center.

The Excellence in Nursing Award annually honors four individuals: two Registered Nurses, one in a staff nurse role and one in an expanded nurse role, (e.g., advanced practice nurse, nurse manager, nurse researcher, instructor, etc.); a Licensed Practical Nurse or Licensed Vocational Nurse; and a Nursing Assistant or Health Care Technician. Awardees must be actively engaged in the care of patients at a Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) facility. The recipients' contributions to the care of patients in any VA health care setting must be patient-centered and demonstrate such excellence as to merit recognition from peers. An individual may receive each award only once.


Get Updates

Subscribe to Receive
Email Updates